Testimonials

 

Write a new entry for the Guestbook

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Fields marked with * are required.
Your E-mail address won't be published.
For security reasons we save the IP address 54.167.250.64.
It's possible that your entry will only be visible in the guestbook after we reviewed it.
We reserve the right to edit, delete, or not publish entries.
16 entries.
Claire D Claire D wrote on October 14, 2017 at 7:23 pm:
Excellent teacher who teaches music very holistically: not just how to play the piano but ear-training, theory, improvising, music history, and more. My son has made huge gains in just two years. Highly recommend.
from Sarah D. wrote on September 12, 2017 at 3:27 pm:
Marc is such a delight to work with. He is an excellent piano teacher, patient with the kids, teaches them not only how to play but the music theory and historical context. He is super organized and helpful when it comes to scheduling too. So glad we found Marc!
Al D Al D wrote on September 3, 2017 at 4:38 pm:
Marc is top-notch -- very positive and encouraging, skilled at helping students use their interests and motivation to make great progress while having fun. Our child has made real strides studying with Marc. As a parent, I find Marc to be very professional and easy to work with. Highly recommended.
Christopher L Christopher L wrote on September 1, 2017 at 2:54 am:
Marc works with each student patiently at his/her level, and does a good job motivating them to advance while holding them accountable for their own progress.
Marie-Claire Page Marie-Claire Page wrote on March 3, 2014 at 2:10 pm:
Marc is a great teacher, very patient and kind. I am an adult beginner and Marc breaks down lessons in manageable chunks, gives me homework and keeps me interested. I am always looking forward to the next lesson, and thanks to him I greatly enjoy the process of learning music. mcp
Gary O'Connor Gary O'Connor wrote on February 14, 2014 at 8:08 pm:
I take voice lessons from Marc Donnelly. I am an adult and started out at zero -- I had never really done any singing except for sort of lip synching in church. So my comfort level at first was extremely low. But he makes you feel very comfortable. He is very knowledgeable, but also very patient. I have been very pleased with him as a teacher. I would highly recommend him to others. Feel free to contact me if you would like more info.
Kelly R Kelly R from Silver Spring, MD wrote on April 30, 2013 at 12:26 pm:
Marc teaches my two children, 7 and 9, once a week. I cannot say enough about how great he has been for them. He is very patient and effective, the kids love to practice and they are consistently improving. Flexible schedule, reasonable rates. A+
Amaka O. Amaka O. from Silver Spring, MD wrote on November 5, 2012 at 3:27 am:
It is a joy to work with Marc. What serendipity it is to learn from someone who is both a talented teacher and musician. He brings both a wealth of technical expertise and musicality that not only honors the composer, but allows for the student to find their own unique expression. Whether you are a beginning student or amateur rediscovering your musical abilities, Marc’s kindness, patience and passion for music will help you achieve your goals. I highly recommend him as a teacher.
Tatiana Tatiana wrote on August 13, 2012 at 12:06 am:
I have had the distinct pleasure of working with Marc both in a choral setting and in the classroom. As a choral conductor Marc is patient, supportive and incredibly creative in his teaching style. His ability to incorporate historical, and theoretical elements into his rehearsal is enlightening and enjoyable. Anybody would be lucky to work with him in any capacity.
Kelly Kelly wrote on August 8, 2012 at 3:05 am:
I had the pleasure of having Marc as my Music History professor at the University of Connecticut. I was persuing a music minor and was required to take this class. However, it never felt like a boring required class with Marc teaching. Marc brought a presence to the classroom that made the learning environment fun and relaxed. He was also able to incorporate his extensive musical background into the lessons which brought the lesson outside of the textbook. I myself, being a very kinesthetic learner, benefited from the visual and hands on moments that he often incorporated into the lessons. He was always willing to help and clarify anything that was unclear in either the textbook or the lesson. He also did a very good job incorporating the different musical knowledge levels of the students. Having a small background in theory, I always loved the more in-depth theory moments. You can always tell that Marc really cares about his students through all of his efforts. I will greatly miss learning with him next year. Good Luck Marc!
Andrea Andrea wrote on August 8, 2012 at 2:21 am:
What I like best about Marc's teaching his is attention to detail: technical, musical, and historical. As a vocal/choral coach, Marc not only helped me with my breathing and tone, he helped me become a better sight-singer (especially with regards to counting!). Moreover, his attention to phrasing and vocal gesture helped transform me from singer into an engaging performer.
Elliot Elliot wrote on August 6, 2012 at 7:02 pm:
Washington DC will be the beneficiary of Marc's upcoming move from southern New England. Aside from having a stunning voice himself, he is an impossibly patient and skilled teacher. He has high standards and will want you to work; but, he works hard at it with you. As a choir coach, I have heard that he brings the absolute best out of those in his "care."
Steven Amburn Steven Amburn wrote on August 6, 2012 at 6:34 pm:
Marc is a great teacher and mentor. He helped me with aural, vocal, and piano skills at the University of Oklahoma. Marc is easy to work with and does anything he can to help out, whether that means slowing down, one step at a time, or giving you more more difficult challenges because he knows you can do it. Thanks Marc! -Steven
Jennifer Horan Jennifer Horan from Newport, RI wrote on August 4, 2012 at 1:04 am:
Marc was my voice-teacher last year. He was wonderful to work with. He was my first teacher for voice as I am new at choir singing. The theory he provided was at a very high level and the practical advice he gave me for sight reading was invaluable. I plan to work with him again! Jennifer Horan
Lyle Kahle Lyle Kahle wrote on August 3, 2012 at 11:45 pm:
At age 61 and with singing experience but never having lessons, I decided to undertake the task of being a better choral singer. Marc took me on as a student. I found him to be a huge help to me technically in the areas I wanted to strengthen (breathing, vowel pronunciation, power). Even more importantly he helped me overcome my extreme fear of singing in front of another person. He understood my goals (not to be a soloist but to be a better member of a group) and respected them. I would recommend him highly.
Michael Fitch Michael Fitch wrote on August 3, 2012 at 5:46 pm:
I had the experience of having Marc as both a theory teacher and a choral director, and in that time he proved himself to be extremely capable in both areas. As a theory pedagogue, Marc's knowledge and skill are superb and matched only by his ability to teach the material. Not only did he find ways to convey the subject well, but his approach was fluid in the sense that he could adapt to the changing needs of students. If a student found a concept difficult to grasp, Marc would easily explain it from a different perspective in order to aid comprehension - a mark of a quality teacher. As a choral conductor, Marc brought knowledge, preparedness, and control to rehearsal. Unlike many student conductors with whom I've worked, he wasted little rehearsal time, allowing the ensemble to get the notes quickly so that interpretation and musicality could be brought to the forefront of the rehearsal process. Put simply, if Marc heard something incorrect, he fixed it calmly, quickly, and in a way that made his choir all feel like an integral part of the ensemble. With this precision he was able to easily carry out his vision of the piece, something which was informed by the strength of his knowledge of the repertoire. It was a pleasure to work with Marc, and I look forward to a time when my studies are completed and I can work with him again.